Sasha Bruce


Deborah Shore

Executive Director and Founder

As founder and executive director of Sasha Bruce Youthwork, Deborah Shore has led groundbreaking work in youth and family service development in the District of Columbia. Her vision for empowering at-risk and homeless youth through a competency-based approach to counseling and supportive services has been enhanced through the recruitment and training of an exceptional staff and the development of strong management systems to ensure that SBY’s work meets the highest standards of quality and cost-effectiveness. Ms. Shore has received several awards for her leadership in the nonprofit sector, most recently a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Network for Youth.

James Beck

Vice President of Planning, Development and Evaluation

James Beck has 20 years of executive experience in the nonprofit human services sector. His commitment to mission-driven service organizations is demonstrated by his participation on several nonprofit boards in San Francisco and Maryland. Mr. Beck’s core expertise is in fundraising, design, implementation, and evaluation of strategic initiatives and programs, contract compliance, community relations, board development and organizational governance. A founder of a medically monitored syringe exchange specifically for homeless youth, Mr. Beck received a Master’s Degree in nonprofit administration from the University of San Francisco.

Sheila Clark

Chief of Programs

Sheila Strain Clark has over 20 years of experience in non-profit leadership focusing on children, youth, and families. Prior to Sasha Bruce Youthwork, Sheila was the Associate Director of Public Programs at Equal Justice Works, an organization dedicated to mobilizing the next generation of lawyers committed to equal justice. At Equal Justice Works, Sheila managed over $7,000,000 in federal grants including three AmeriCorps grants that engaged over 800 students and lawyers in service. Proceeding Equal Justice Works, Sheila was the Program Manager of the DC YouthLink Initiative at the DC Department of Youth Rehabilitation Services (DYRS). In that role, she managed over $6,000,000 in city funds for a nationally awarded juvenile justice program focused on improving public safety and increasing positive outcomes for court-involved youth. Prior to DYRS, she held various leadership positions at non-profit organizations across the District of Columbia including Division Director with the United Planning Organization, Executive Director with the Northwest Church Family Network, and Assistant Director with the North Capitol Collaborative.

Amy Driver

Director of Evaluation

Amy Driver began her career as a scientist before transitioning to development and operations management in both the private and nonprofit sectors. Prior to joining Sasha Bruce, Amy was the Associate Director of Events Operations at Human Rights Campaign (HRC) where she was responsible for the financial and operations management of a $10 million development program with 32 fundraising events annually across the country. In the private sector, Amy built multidisciplinary teams of private, academic and nonprofit collaborators for vaccine and immunotherapy research projects against diseases such as HIV, Ebola and cancer. Before joining Sasha Bruce as Director of Evaluation, Amy was a regular volunteer with our street outreach team and program coordinator of the Downtown Drop-In Center in the Gallery Place area of DC. Amy also serves on the Advisory Council of Measure4Change, a joint initiative of the World Bank Group and Urban Institute to increase the performance measurement capacity of DC-area nonprofits. Amy holds bachelor of science degrees in chemistry and biochemistry from the College of Charleston, a master of science in toxicology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and an MBA from the University of Southern California.

Board Of Directors
John Crain, Chair

Principal, 452 Counsulting

Christopher Addison, Vice Chair

Principal, Addison/Ripley Fine Art

Shaunda Patterson-Strachan, Secretary

Shareholder, Carlton Fields Jorden Burt, P.A.

Larry Fullerton, Treasurer

Retired Attorney

Alan Adler

Managing Director, Chevy Chase Trust

Peter Anthony


Don Auerbach

Chief of Government Affairs, Investment Company Institute

Constance Bruce


Dwight Bush


Natasha Cavanaugh

Associate General Counsel, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Kathryn E. Fletcher

Vice President, US Card Customer Acquisitions

Morgan Genderson


Waldo G. McMillan, Jr.

Founder & Managing Director, Capstone Counsel Group

Matthew Morton, Ph.D.

Research Fellow, Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago

Nate Oleson

Partner / Attorney, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

Liska Radachi

Major Gifts Officer, Smithsonian Institution

Lee Satterfield

Executive Vice President, Meridian International Center

Heideh R. Shahmoradi

O’Keeffe Shahmoradi Strategies, Partner

Jenny Springer

Director, Equator Group

David Tolson

CEO, DBT-Data Holdings, Inc.


Tracy M. Bernstein, Director Emeritus
Ann Dibble Jordan, Director Emeritus
Judith Kovler, Director Emeritus
W. Dean Smith, Director Emeritus
Elizabeth Stevens, Director Emeritus